Blog 1 – Blessed

CREATIVE “Resolution and Independence” is Wordsworth’s poem on how his depression lifted after seeing the “Resolution and Independence” of the leech gatherer.
Do you have a memory of a moment in your life where your mood changed suddenly for the worst but how something else came and brought a smile back to your face?
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Drawing by self.

I am quite close to my family. Now that I have moved out, it takes much more effort to contact and stay close to them. However, not one day goes by that I do not think about them. They are the reason I am here. They are my motivation. We are by no means a rich family, but I was still lucky enough to have a childhood, get a proper education, loved and even spoiled every day of my life. I cannot ask for anyone else better. It is tough living on my own, in a different continent, a different community, having to provide for myself. There have been many times I have been broken down but I never gave up thanks to their words of encouragement. My parents support me every step of the way, my sisters give me inspiration, my aunt teaches me her wisdom, and my cousins love me an incredible amount. Thinking about them standing behind me every step of the way, pushing me forward puts a smile on my face. Not everyone is blessed enough to have such a supportive family, and I am one of the lucky few that gets to wear that as a badge of pride.

 

A stanza from Woodworth’s “Resolution and Independence” connected with me deeply:

“My whole life I have lived in pleasant thought,

As if life’s business were a summer mood;

As if all needful things would come unsought,

To genial faith, still rich in genial good;”

I feel that this perfectly describes me, as I am with little worry and always enriched in a spiritual sense, because I know I will never have to walk on this earth and go through the ups and downs of life alone, not when I still have my family with me.

One Comment

  1. This is an excellent first entry Jamie- you write with passion and with a real sense that the writing means something to you. Well done!
    *Please attend to editing your work carefully. Here is what I have picked up:
    *I cannot ask for anyone else better. = I cannot ask for ANYTHING else better.
    * There have been many times I have been broken down= NOT QUITE SURE WHAT THIS MEANS… YOU DON’T MEAN AN EMOTIONAL BREAK-DOWN?

    Like

Leave a Reply

