Summative Entry – Thank you.

I would like to start out by saying, I love literature. I always have, even back in Vietnam. However, the method of teaching there did not suit me, as I lost my own voice and was unable to express my interpretation the way I wanted to. Here, in Australian Literature unit, not only did I get to open myself to new and different authors and literature works, I found my voice again. I found my love for literature again.

Starting from my first blog, I was afraid about how I would write it. Not because I did not know how to write, but rather how to make it fit with everybody else. That was what I was taught, to follow a single line if you want to get high marks. Nonetheless, following my own tuition was the best decision I made. The blog got overwhelming feedback and a lot of people enjoyed reading, because I was giving them a perspective they did not have. That’s when I realized, instead of hiding my difference, I should embrace it and share it with everyone. If I can summarize my blogs, it would be: different.

That was the theme for my next blogs, to try and express a different view on the matter. Of course, I could have followed the majority and made it easier for myself, but I wanted a challenge, and this weekly blog assignment was the perfect challenge.

Even though I have yet to know any of these authors prior to taking the course, it is amazing how much I found myself relating to a lot of their work. Especially Kim Scott’s “That Deadman Dance” and how all the characters in the story represented a different side of my own personality.

I believe that my perspective on these works is a perfect representation of me, a unique being not afraid of being different. This is just the start, as I still have long way to go. However, I am grateful to have been given such an opportunity to express myself. I am looking forward to the next semester and the challenges that come along with it.

Lastly, I would like to thank everyone who have viewed my blog and gave me such wonderful constructive criticism. I am better than I was before because of you.

Thank you.

One Comment

  1. Jamie that is a fantastic Summative Entry! So good to hear your voice coming through so loud and clear, and especially good to hear that you are able to express your distinctive voice (not based on what others think you should say!- Yoo Hoo!
    Great work.
    MG

    Like

Leave a Reply

